What Christmas Truly Means to Me

Jesus is the Reason for the season.

If the LORD Jesus Christ had not willingly came to our world on that special day, He would not have suffered and died on our behalf on the Tree of Calvary. The sin of mankind would have taken hold of all our lives and everything and everyone in it. Evil deeds would run rampage. There would be no hope in this world. There would be no One to turn to for salvation. But “the LORD is not slack concerning His promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.” (2 Peter 3:9 KJV)

Because of His immense love for us, incarnation happened. Word became flesh. All prophesies about the Messiah, our Saviour, were fulfilled that precious night. “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life. For God sent not His Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through Him might be saved.” (John 3:16, 17 KJV)

As a mother myself, I pondered on Mark Lowry’s observation of Mary’s silence at the cross on Golgotha where her Son was crucified. Lowry said that if he himself were being crucified in the middle of town, his own mother would have “pitched a fit”, but Mary, the earthly mother of Jesus, never uttered a word. Lowry wondered if maybe what made the difference for her was remembering back to that first Christmas, remembering touching His little hands and feet and counting His fingers and toes.

Lowry says: “I wonder if she realized then that those were the same fingers that had scooped out the oceans and formed the seas. Mary probably counted those little toes; I wonder if she realized that those were the same feet that had walked on streets of gold and had been worshipped by angels. Those little lips were the same lips that had spoken the world into existence. When Mary kissed her little baby, she wasn’t just kissing another baby—she was kissing the face of God. Thirty-three years later she’s standing on a hillside watching blood pour from His veins, from the side of her own son… and she didn’t open her mouth. What a great testimony to the fact that He wasn’t just a great prophet, He wasn’t just a great preacher, He wasn’t just a great teacher, He was the virgin-born son of God. He was our Savior. And He didn’t just die for us; He died for His own mother. [She realized that] the baby boy she had delivered on that first Christmas was now on a cross delivering her.”

Christmas to me has no longer been a season of party and celebrations as it used to be for me (before I became a born-again Christian). There is a sense of intricacy between the birth of Christ Jesus and his redeeming death on the cross felt simultaneously deep within my soul. As much as everyone would like to saturate and douse the Christmas season under a blanket of heavenly peace, the Word of God itself keeps the cross just a step away from the manger.

Christmas not only reminds me of why Jesus came for me on that very first Christmas night, it evokes my need for Him as my Deliverer, my Redeemer, my Saviour. Because of His unconditional love for us, Jesus, the Light of the world, left His throne in Heaven and stepped down into darkness. Because of His abounding love and grace, in meekness, Jesus, came to the earth He created. The King of all days,  so highly exalted and glorious in Heaven above became poor for our sake, and was made a propitiation for our sins.

“Christ hath redeemed us from the curse of the law, being made a curse for us: for it is written, Cursed is every one that hangeth on a tree: That the blessing of Abraham might come on the Gentiles through Jesus Christ; that we might receive the promise of the Spirit through faith.” (Galatians 3:13, 14 KJV)

“But He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon Him; and with His stripes we are healed. All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way; and the Lord hath laid on Him the iniquity of us all.” (Isaiah 53:5, 6 KJV)

1. Christmas has become a time for me to sit back and really count my blessings. Considering the boundless sea of grace I have plummeted into, the surface of which I was only seeing, my heart sings this song:

How deep the Father’s love for us,
How vast beyond all measure
That He should give His only Son
To make a wretch His treasure

How great the pain of searing loss,
The Father turns His face away
As wounds which mar the chosen One,
Bring many sons to glory

Behold the Man upon a cross,
My sin upon His shoulders
Ashamed I hear my mocking voice,
Call out among the scoffers

It was my sin that left Him there
Until it was accomplished
His dying breath has brought me life
I know that it is finished

I will not boast in anything
No gifts, no power, no wisdom
But I will boast in Jesus Christ
His death and resurrection

Why should I gain from His reward?
I cannot give an answer
But this I know with all my heart
His wounds have paid my ransom

2. Christmas is the season for giving. Every year, I am moved to give something to the friends I care about, especially those who do not yet know Christ Jesus. Regardless how big or small the Christmas present,  the gift is merely a vehicle, for which I could send a hand-written card to tell them about my LORD, my Saviour.

3. Christmas is a time for my family. There is no one else I would love to spend this special day with. It doesn’t matter what we’ll be doing, or what we’ll not be doing, as long as the family is together. This year, we were invited to Christmas lunch at the Chan’s (Philip and Adeline), as children of God, we gathered together, got to know some new friends, and enjoyed a blessed time of fellowship over a lavish buffet of home-made fare such as Briyani, curry chicken, curry chap chye, Apple cider beverage, pecan tarts, fruit tarts, ice wine, etc. It wasn’t the usual Christmas feast people have on Christmas, but it was just what our taste buds and parotid glands been craving to masticate and digest upon. Thank God for His faithful provision and providence.

“Now the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that ye may abound in hope, through the power of the Holy Ghost.” (Romans 15:13)

image

This entry was posted in Thankfulness, Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

