Daddy’s 64th Birthday Celebration

To my dearest Daddy,

No matter how many birthdays go by, no matter how many wrinkles have appeared on your handsome face, no matter how many white hair have grown in place of the black ones, no matter how high your presbyopia is currently… I will always be your little girl, whom you have taught to soar high in the sky! You are still my hero, the one who inspires me to be the best I can be. Thank you Daddy for all these years, being there whenever I need you, always ready to hold me when I fall, supporting me in times of troubles, loving me deeply since the day I was born. Oh my Daddy, how much I love you!

I thank God for letting me be your daughter. Your guidance and counsel throughout my growing years are still remembered and cherished deep within my heart. I love you so so much! Blessed 64th birthday! May The Lord grant you many many more years to come! I pray that there be a day when you will seek the face of God, know Him personally as your Lord and Saviour, and fall into the loving embrace of the One and only true Living God. For He is the greatest treasure that anyone could find, behold, and cherish till eternity. Let this day come soon O’ Lord!

Love Always,

琪琪

Family photo 2

My father turned 64 yrs old today! We celebrated his birthday at the new restaurant called 和平 in MyVillage at Serangoon Gardens, where we ordered a 盆菜 for dinner! This traditional one-pot wonder dish is commonly ordered and consumed during Chinese New Year because eating it signifies abundance and prosperity in the coming year. Since 和平 restaurant has it all-year round, and we enjoyed it a few years back in its main branch in Macpherson, we decided to order it for Dad’s birthday dinner celebration here in this new branch at Maju Avenue.

盆菜 at 和平

We had to order the 盆菜 2 days in advance because the chef needed time to prepare the ingredients to optimize the overall taste of the dish, because the many ingredients that make up a 盆菜 are all prepared and cooked separately. They are then layered and then finally blanketed by an assortment of seafood delicacies fit for royalty (with luxurious seafood such as abalone, scallops, king prawns, fish maw, etc.).

A 盆菜 typically consists of the following ingredients in the order that they are layered upon, starting from the bottom up:

  1. Napa Cabbage
  2. Beancurd sheets (Tau Kee)
  3. Roast Pork and/or Roast Duck
  4. Fish Maw
  5. Fatt Choy, Broccoli and Mushrooms
  6. Scallops, King Prawns and Abalone

Layering the ingredients this way ensures optimal sensory pleasures in terms of richness in taste as well as a pleasant sight. This is because the braising sauce can be absorbed most efficiently by those ingredients laid in the bottom of the claypot, followed by those layered in between. Then finally, these are topped with the luxurious and auspicious ingredients and simmered for long hours till all ingredients are tender, and their flavors blend and complement each other, lending a rich taste to the entire casserole of treasures.

All of us devoured the deliciously braised contents in the large claypot, leaving nothing left after. It costs $38++ per pax.

 

WO PENG CANTONESE CUISINE 和平宴
1 Maju Ave, Serangoon Garden #02-01 MyVillage,
Singapore 556679

For reservation, call 6634 7666

For more information → www.wopeng.com.sg

Family photo 1

This entry was posted in Food, Thankfulness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

