Too scared to try…

We are still feeling excited for Baby E for braving out her first steps! The next morning when we woke up, I enthusiastically set her on those two sturdy little feet, eager to witness further display of her new talent. With a little bit of coaxing, she focused on me, attempted to step out and managed 5 quick mini steps in a wobbly manner towards me before she plonked down on her diapered bottom. Bravo baby!!

That was pretty much it! The whole of today, Baby E seemed to have forgotten how brave she was the past 2 days. All she dared was one shaky step each time I prompted her to walk, then she would squat down to sit on the floor. Our formerly confident rocking-it baby appeared to be too scared to try, it seems like the past 2 days of achievement didn’t matter to her in the realities came morning. All she knew and focused on instead was that the long day was filled with countless opportunities for her to fall and hurt herself…

And I knew exactly how she felt. I’ve been there. When that one little criticism extinguished my enthusiasm for something I was passionate about. When my own weaknesses and faults seemed to far outweigh my strengths and talents. When I felt like I could soar, but was convinced that my wings were clipped instead. I forget that I am brave. And I am too scared to try.

I want to be mindful that I have a secret weapon. Maybe you’ve heard of Him. He who is alive and very special – He is the Creator of the Universe. The One who raised people from the dead. The God who sees us, knows us, and hears us. The One who was, who is, and who is to come. And in His own Word, He assures me that I can do everything and anything I can possibly dream of doing, simply because He is with me, and He strengthens me. It is no longer I who does a praise-worthy work, but He who is in me. He steadies my heart. He allays my fears. And He leads me by the hand, reminding me that I can once again be brave, because I have Him. I remember that He is my Heavenly Father, my LORD and Saviour, and therefore I find courage.

I am waiting for Baby E to remember how brave she was. I look forward to the day she would be running happily before me, with her hands in the air, feeling the breeze that brushes her skin every morning. I hope to once again see glimpses of that glorious bravery light up my daughter’s sweet face. For the days to come before she could finally strut well, I’ll be there for her, to catch her before she falls, to comfort her if she feels defeated, to encourage her if she feels too scared to try…

When I said, My foot slippeth; Thy mercy, O Lord, held me up. In the multitude of my thoughts within me Thy comforts delight my soul. (Psalm 94:18-19)

This entry was posted in Baby E, Baby's Growth Milestones, Parenting, Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

