Craft Day – Coincidence

Candy Tree

It is craft day today! Was out on a rainy day to stock up on craft supplies, and it was such a coincidence to run into my brother and VA! There are so many entrance/exit doorways within the duo-tower multi-level giant complex of Ngee Ann City, at the exact right time when I was about to push E’s stroller into the mall at level 1, my brother was on the opposite side of the same door, pulling it open for VA’s exit! It was then when all 4 pairs of eyes met, 3 mouths opened with astonishing disbelief, and bear hugs exchanged!

Mama! Can I keep this lollipop?!

Mama! Can I keep this lollipop?!

They accompanied us to Candy Empire to get a bagful of white M&M’s, before we parted ways – they went on for Starbucks in Paragon, while E and I stayed in the complex to catch the Hello Kitty stage performance.

Our chance meeting at the door earlier today had me feeling bewildered till now. There were just too many possible ways that I could have been delayed, especially with E, or I could have used my usual route along the basement level of the connecting shopping malls. A mere minute would have made all the difference! Citing coincidence is how people would explain unexpected events and surprise meetings, however, just because we are taken by surprise does not mean that God is.

The definition of the word “coincidence” given by Dictionary.com is as such: A striking occurrence of two or more events at the same time, apparently by mere chance.

Interestingly, the word coincidence is used only once in the New Testament, in Luke 10:31 by Jesus when He told of the parable of the Good Samaritan. The word coincidence is translated from the Greek word synkyrian, which is a combination of two words: sun and kurios. Sun means “together with”, and kurious means “supreme in authority”. This gives the biblical definition of coincidence to be “what occurs together by God’s providential arrangement of circumstances”.

What appears to us as random chance is in fact overseen by a sovereign God who knows even the number of hairs on our head (Luke 12:7). In fact, God states unequivocally that He is in charge of everything:

“I am God, and there is none like me. Only I can tell you the future before it even happens. Everything I plan will come to pass, for I do whatever I wish. I will call a swift bird of prey from the east— a leader from a distant land to come and do my bidding. I have said what I would do, and I will do it.” (‭Isaiah‬ ‭46‬:‭9-11‬ NLT)

Be blessed by the One and only true Living God!

This entry was posted in Baby E and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

