Birthday Blessings

It’s my birthday today! I’m older by one year again! J made it special for me this year by giving me a watch as my birthday present. I’ve been searching for the right watch for the longest time, but just couldn’t set my mind to buy any that I fancy.

I was secretly thinking if J buys me a watch for my birthday, I’ll love it no matter how it looks on me. I was exhilarated when I unwrapped my birthday present! Not only did he find the perfect watch, it comes with exchangeable leather straps to match any outfit! I love both the white and brown leather straps and the rose gold watch rim that the watch has. Even the watch face is simple and elegant. J knows me so well. He always knows what to get for me, and what looks best on me.

Love my husband

As it’s Sunday today, we thought having a Birthday Sunday Brunch would be a great way to start the day right! And where better to have Sunday brunch than Basilico at Regent Hotel? We called the popular restaurant, expecting that it would be fully booked. True enough, it was! Nonetheless, we were asked to be put on their waiting list, in case someone cancels their reservation. Within 30 min, Basilico called back and we were thrilled to be able to have brunch there! It has been about 2 years since we last dined at Basilico.

Waiting for Basilico Brunch!

We arrived early and waited outside Manhattan Bar. J took Little E for a walk around the premise to give me some free-alone-me-time away from my 24-hr sidekick. I didn’t know he took this picture of me praying while resting at that moment, until much later when we reviewed our photos for the day.

Free rest time away from baby

Came 12 noon and a crowd began to form at the entrance of Basilico. We entered the posh restaurant and were shown to a brightly lit table where the pool can be seen.

Basilico, Regent Hotel

We were spoilt for choice with the vast array of antipasti that were sprawled across the various tables within the restaurant. A plethora of cured meats, bread, cheese, salad options and cold seafood including lobsters and Alaskan King crabs were available for appetisers.

Mains included Turkey, roast lamb, seabass, pizza, beef and lamb stews, seafood stew, roast beef, various pastas, etc. Seriously, Basilico is popular for a good reason.

Foie gras

Of course, the one dish that we craved for at Basilico was the foie gras, which I love eating it with Basilico’s mushroom risotto. I would go back anytime just to order the dish ala carte! Yum-meh!

As for our Little E, she was kept entertained by walking around, peekaboo’ing with me, then J, and the others sitting near us. She had a good serving of risotto too, together with little pieces of lamb, turkey and beef. Of course, she loved holding onto different types of artisan bread and taking bites out of them occasionally when she was seated on her high chair.

 Surprise birthday cake

Then the surprise came. The manager walked in with a plate of pistachio butter cake – my surprise birthday cake on the house! It was clear in the picture above that Little E was more surprised than the birthday girl herself! Hahaha…

After the long brunch, we headed back home to nap. Little E slept for a good 3 hrs. Then we woke up and went to Ikea because J had a list of things to buy. We shopped around for a while and finally bought a matching dark wood side table for our bedroom. J had always wanted me to have a side table so that I could keep my loose things in it. His vision is to make it into a small blogging corner for me!

Love Confectionary

Then it was time to buy a birthday cake for me. J asked if I would like to have my traditional log cake, because since young, my father has always bought me a Christmas chocolate log cake as my birthday cake. But this year, I was only craving for the pandan cake from Love Confectionary in Alexandra Village. Ever since we left Alexandra Hospital and moved to Khoo Teck Puat Hospital in 2008, I had only came back and tasted their pandan cake twice or thrice…

Love Confectionary

Knowing that Love Confectionary may not have any for sale at the time we arrived, I was still filled with hope that maybe today will be different. To my heart’s delight, there they were, sitting so prettily in the shelves, nicely sliced into wedges, waiting patiently for me to pick them up! Then I saw the logs on the table! Thank You Lord! for being so gracious to me! I bought 1 log, 2 butter cake slices and 1 pandan slice.

Pandan Cake from Love Confectionary

The smell of butter and pandan wafted in the car when I opened the cake box. And Little E couldn’t wait to get her hands on them! For dinner, we wanted something fast but yet nutritious and tasty. Where else to go but Grub Noodle Bar?!

We ordered beef rump noodles and their Penang Laksa, and that was my birthday dinner, enjoyed in the comfort of our homely love nest. I couldn’t have asked for a better birthday celebration. Hmmmm….

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You so much for sustaining me and my love ones till this day. You have been very gracious and merciful to me, watching over my life, and every little details in it. All the things I have are given by You. May I have the wisdom to be a good steward over all the things that You have given me. May I have a heart of overflowing love and joy that pours out to the people You have placed in my life. For You are my God, my Lord, my Saviour, my Deliverer, my Portion. My life will not be worthy of living without You being in it. 

My dearest Lord Jesus, thank You for being my Portion and my Inheritance. Help me to remember, every single day, that I have no one in heaven but You and that, having You, I have nothing on earth that I should desire. My heart and my flesh will indeed fail someday, but You are the Strength of my heart, and my Portion forever.

“I say to myself, ‘The LORD is my Portion; therefore I will wait for Him’” (Lamentations 3:24 NIV).

This entry was posted in Food, Thankfulness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthday Blessings

  1. VA says:

    You deserve the best of the best, sis! My favorite picture is one with E’s hand reaching for the cake box!

Leave a Reply

